Premium Joomla Template by iPage

Department of English

  • Year of establishment of thDepartment : July 1940.
  • Honours teaching started in the year 1964.

Teaching Staff

 Sl.  Teaching staff  Qualification Specialization
 1 Dr. Shahla Rehana   M.A, Ph.D  Asian English
 2 Dr. Sahar Rahman   M.A, Ph.D  Postcolonial Fiction
 3 Dr. Richa   M.A, NET, Ph.D  Sexuality, Gender and Ecology
 4 Ms. Nikhila Narayanan   M.A, NET, B.Ed  Ecology and Literature
 5 Ms. Sapna Kumari   M.A, NET

 Postcolonial Literature, Indian English  Literature,

 Literary Theory

 6 Sr. M. Nelsa A.C.   M.A.  Postcolonial Literature


Highlights of the Department

  • 100% result with good percentage and every year 8 to 9 students figure in the  top 10 rank holders at the University level.
  • Placement: Our students are well placed in good organizations and recruited in Govt. Services.
  • Meenakshi Mukherjee former director, School of Languages and Linguistics, JNU. Distinguished scholar, academician, critic & writer of international repute.
  • Lakshmi Chakraverty, IAS, former Chief Sec. Govt. of Jharkhand.
  • Shashi Uban, IAS, former first secretary. Indian High Commission, Canada.
  • Manjari Jaruhar, IPS
  • Mala Prasad, Allied Services
  • Shilpa Singh, Bar-at-Law, London, at present practising in Delhi High Court.
  • Shinjini Kumar, CEO,Paytm
  • A great number of ex-students are distinguished teachers both in schools and universities.
  • The Deptt. gives equal importance to academics and extra curricular activities.

Contact Us

Bailey Road, Patna Bihar, PIN - 800001
Call : +91 612 2531186
Email :